5 0 0  M A I N  S T R E E T

F R A N K L I N ,  L O U I S I A N A 


UCC e-file


To electronically file UCC with the Louisiana Secretary of State click here



Certification Of Election 

Commissioner Classes

We do not have any classes scheduled at this time. Please call our office and we will add you to the list, so that you can be notified of the next dates for the Commissioner Classes. You must register to attend and meet qualifications as per R.S. 18:425. 

A marriage license is valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana.

 

Age Requirement - Applicants must be 18 years of age. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must appear with photo identification to sign a consent form. If under the age of 16, in addition to parents written consent, you must have written consent from a judge in the form of a court order.


Time Requirement - Applicants must obtain the marriage license at least 3 days (72 hours) prior to the ceremony. This can be waived by a judge or justice of the peace authorized to perform the ceremony. Marriage license expires 30 days from date and time of issue if not used.


Covenant Marriage - To apply for a marriage license under the Covenant Marriage Act, the couple must comply with all of the above stated requirements in addition to receiving premarital counseling. For full description of the Covenant Marriage Act, please refer to the Louisiana Department of Health & Hospitals’ website. Click here http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/695


Fee - The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $33.00 (cash or check payable to Clerk of Court). This fee includes two certified copies of the marriage license which will be forwarded to the couple’s correct mailing address once it is returned to us from the officiant.


What’s needed for a Marriage License:

APPLICANT BORN IN THE UNITED STATES:

Application for a marriage license must be sworn to and signed before a deputy clerk or notary.  Both parties do no have to be present for the license to be issued.

Certified copy of birth certificate for both parties (long form)

Social security number

Valid & unexpired driver’s license or government issued identification card

Proof of termination of prior marriage (Judgment of divorce or death certificate)

APPLICANT BORN OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES:

Application for a marriage license must be sworn to and signed before a deputy clerk or notary.  Both parties do not have to be present for the license to be issued.

Certified copy of birth certificate. If not printed in English, in addition to the certified copy, a translated copy duly authorized must be presented.  In lieu of a birth certificate, a Certification of Naturalization by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Authority can be provided


Proof of termination of prior marriage (Judgment of divorce or death certificate)


LIST OF ST MARY PARISH JUSTICE OF THE PEACE

Requirement for Marriage License

Types of Records Available

Conveyance and mortgage records are viewable online.  Go to our searchable database to setup an account to access records via eSearch or view fees for this service.

Save time with eSearch

St. Mary Parish records are searchable on the Internet. Click Here to go to our searchable records database and sign up with an account to obtain the records you need.

eSearch Record Search Information

You must come to Court unless you get a written excuse from the judge or a telephone communication from the judge granting you an excuse. You are required to call after 6:00 P. M. the day prior to your jury duty for a recorded message concerning your attendance.